Esteban Michelena

Esteban Michelena

Esteban Michelena Ayala (Quito, 1963) is an Ecuadorian novelist, writer, and journalist. He is perhaps best known for his trilogy of novels, which includes “Atacames Tonic” (2002), “No more tears” (2018), and the critically acclaimed “El pasado no perdona” (2022) which embodies a genre defined by the author as “tragic realism.” Additionally, through his nonfiction writings, Michelena explores the realities of his country, addressing topics such as political corruption, social inequality, and the struggles faced by marginalized communities. As a journalist, Michelena has been honored with 12 national awards and recognitions, including the “Jorge Mantilla Ortega” award by the newspaper El Comercio on three occasions.


  • Advisor, Metropolitan District Municipality of Quito (May 2019 – present)
  • Director of Communication, Ariete Comunicación (Jan 2011 – May 2019)
  • Director of Communication, Superintendence of Banks and Insurance (Jan 2009 – Jan 2011)
  • Director of Communication, Petroecuador (2003 – 2003)
  • Communicator, United Nations Development Program – Ecuador (2003 – 2003)
  • Director of Communication, National Modernization Council (1999 – 2002)
  • Director of Communication, Ministry of Finance (1998 – 1999)
  • Advisor, Municipality of Quito (1997 – 1997)
  • Communicator, Jamil Mahuad Presidential Campaign (1997 – 1997)
  • Journalist, El Comercio Newspaper (1991 – 1996)
  • Editor, Hoy Newspaper (1989 – 1991)


Eduardo Michelena obtained a degree in Communication with a focus on Journalism and Society from Universidad Central del Ecuador, completing his studies from 1984 to 1988.


Speaking of his latest novel, “El pasado no perdona.” Uploaded to YouTube 2023.
Speaking about blackness, journalism, and reality in fiction. Uploaded to YouTube 2021.
Interview. Uploaded to YouTube 2022.

Presents his latest novel, “El pasado no perdona.” Uploaded to YouTube 2023.
As a special guest on the “El Gran Musical.” Uploaded to YouTube in 2019.

Selected works

  • Atacames Tonic (Paradiso Editores, 2002)
  • No more tears (Ariete Comunicación Estratégica, 2018)
  • El pasado no perdona (Paradiso Editores, 2022)
  • 200 años de humor quiteño (Citymarket, 2007)
  • Pase al vacío (Paradiso Editores, 2010)
  • Los últimos inocentes del planeta: crónica de una barbarie impune (2015)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *