Maritza Cino

Maritza Cino

Maritza Cino Alvear (Guayaquil, 1957) is an Ecuadorian poet and university professor. She has published 8 poetry collections and a collection of 23 short stories entitled “Días frívolos” [Frivolous Days]. Her poems have appeared in Latin American and Spanish magazines, as well as U.S.-based online magazines. In addition, some of her poetry has been translated into English, Italian and French. Her latest poetry collection “El temblor de los huertos” [The Tremor of the Orchards] was published in 2022.


Maritza Cino was raised by her grandparents as a result of her parents’ divorce and was born in the port city of Guayaquil. Her grandparents were from an Italian village named Santa Domenica Talao in Calabria, but due to the First World War, they relocated to South America.

Awards and recognitions

  • “Medardo Ángel Silva” National Poetry Contest, 1983
  • Honorary Mention at the “Djenana” National Poetry Contest, 1992
  • Honorary Mention at the “Ismael Pérez Pazmiño” National Poetry Contest, 1993


She earned a degree in Spanish Language and Literature at the Catholic University of Santiago de Guayaquil (UCSG). She also has a diploma in Higher Education from Casa Grande University. She has worked as a professor at the University of Guayaquil, the Catholic University, and the Polytechnic University, and has also led literary workshops. She is currently a professor at the University of the Arts (UArtes).


When Maritza Cino began to write poetry in her adolescence, the writings of Kafka, Miller, Lawrence, Huidobro, Plath, Duras, and Lezama Lima had a big impact on her. Her writing was also greatly influenced by other Ecuadorian authors like Sonia Manzano Vela and Ileana Espinel.



  • Algo parecido al juego (1983)
  • A cinco minutos de la bruma (1987)
  • Invenciones del retorno (1992)
  • Entre el juego y la bruma (1997)
  • Infiel a la sombra (2000)
  • Cuerpos guardados (2009)
  • Poesía reunida (2013)
  • El temblor de los huertos (2022)


  • Días frívolos (Cadáver Exquisito, 2016)

Maritza Cino’s poems have been included in the following anthologies

  • La palabra perdurable (Quito, 1991)
  • Between the silence of voice, An Anthology Contemporary Ecuadorian Women Poets (Quito, 1997)
  • Poesía y cuento ecuatorianos, Antología temática (Cuenca, 1998)
  • Poesía Erótica de Mujeres (Quito, 2001)
  • Trilogía Poética de las Mujeres de Hispanoamérica (México, 2004)
  • Mujeres frente al espejo (Guayaquil, 2005)
  • La Voz de Eros (Quito, 2006)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *