Vicente Robalino

Continue reading “Vicente Robalino”

Juliana Espinosa R.

Juliana Espinosa R. (Ibarra, 1986) is an Ecuadorian writer and social communicator. Her literary debut novel “Las Manos de Alondra” (2017) remains her only published work to date. The story revolves around a young girl who confronts the profound loss of her mother and sets off on a transformative journey of self-discovery. Espinosa skillfully explores themes of family, love, resilience, and personal growth, captivating readers with her sincere and engaging narrative. “Las Manos de Alondra” serves as a testament to Espinosa’s potential as a distinct and promising author.

Continue reading “Juliana Espinosa R.”

Gladys Potosí Chuquín

Gladys Potosí Chuquín (Angochagua, Imbabura, February 17, 1981) is an Ecuadorian poet and activist who is a member of the Kichwa-Karanki indigenous community. Like the Otavalo, the Natabuela, and the Puruhá, the Karanki are a pre-Inca tribe who adopted the Kichwa language (Quechua) as a result of Incan influence. However, the Iberian invasion that followed the Inca one eventually imposed Spanish as the main language in the Andean area where she is from. She stopped writing in Spanish so that she could find her voice in Kichwa (Quechua), and her poetry serves as a witness to or reflection of the changes that have occurred among her people and herself. She has represented Ecuador at various literature festivals in and outside of Ecuador.

Continue reading “Gladys Potosí Chuquín”

César Dávila Torres 

César Dávila Torres (Ibarra, 1932 – 2013) was an Ecuadorian poet, writer, lawyer, jurist, and university professor. He is cosidered one of the most notable writers of his generation. In 1955, he published his first poetry book, “Los hijos de la tierra.” In 1969, a collection of his poems was published in “Poesía junta” (a new edition was published in 2018 by the House of Ecuadorian Culture in Imbabura). In 2018, Dávila’s family gave the Aurelio Espinosa Polit Ecuadorian Library (BEAEP) around 7,500 books belonging to Dávila’s library, in addition to some of his personal belongings.

Continue reading “César Dávila Torres “

Enrique Ayala Mora

Enrique Ayala Mora (Ibarra, November 13, 1950) is an Ecuadorian historian, essayist, editor, university professor and politician. He works as a professor at the Central University of Ecuador and the Simón Bolívar Andean University. He was a deputy of Ecuador, vice president of the National Congress and member of the Constituent Assembly (1997-1998). He is currently the President of the Ecuadorian Socialist Party. As an editor and writer, he has published over 30 works on history and politics.

Continue reading “Enrique Ayala Mora”

Edmundo Ribadeneira Meneses

Edmundo Ribadeneira Meneses (Ibarra, November 2, 1920 – February 14, 2004) was an Ecuadorian writer and university professor. He was the president of the House of Ecuadorian Culture from 1979-1988. In 1988 the president of Ecuador conferred on Ribadeneira the Eugenio Espejo Award for his lifetime of contribution to the national culture.

Continue reading “Edmundo Ribadeneira Meneses”

Agustin Cueva

Agustin Cueva Davila (Ibarra, September 23, 1937 – Quito, May 1, 1992) was an Ecuadorian writer, literary critic, and marxist sociologist. He was awarded the Eugenio Espejo Prize in Science in 1991, by the President of Ecuador. Some of his works have been translated into other languages, such as English, Japanese and Korean.

Continue reading “Agustin Cueva”

Huilo Ruales

Huilo Ruales Hualca is an Ecuadorian novelist, playwright, poet and short story writer. He was born on March 25, 1947 in Ibarra, Ecuador. He is considered one of Ecuador’s most important contemporary writers. Some of his works have been translated into French and German. His books have been awarded the Joaquín Gallegos Lara Prize (1989) and the Aurelio Espinosa Polit Prize (1994). He currently lives in Paris, France.

Continue reading “Huilo Ruales”