Fernando Naranjo Espinoza

Fernando Naranjo Espinoza (Guayaquil, 1954) is an Ecuadorian writer, architect, watercolorist, and illustrator. He has made significant contributions to the realm of science fiction, a genre relatively unexplored in Ecuadorian literature. With his boundless imagination and captivating storytelling abilities, Naranjo Espinoza takes readers on extraordinary journeys through time, space, and alternate realities. In recognition of his talent, he received an Honorable Mention in the prestigious National Contest “José de la Cuadra” in 1979. Among his notable works is “La era del asombro” (1994), which garnered acclaim and recognition in the National Contest “Ismael Pérez Pazmiño.” Another noteworthy publication is “Cuídate de los coriolis de agosto” (2006). While primarily known for his science fiction stories, Naranjo Espinoza also ventured into the realm of the social novel with his book “Guasmo sur” (2013), which earned him the Second National Novel Prize in 2010. His most recent work, “Los custodios de la piedra” (2018), is a captivating collection of science fiction stories that delve into themes of time travel, memory, and the manipulation of reality. Since August 2017, Fernando Naranjo Espinoza has been serving as the Director of the Guayas Branch of the House of Ecuadorian Culture.

Continue reading “Fernando Naranjo Espinoza”

Santiago Páez

Santiago Páez Gallegos (Quito, 1958) is an Ecuadorian writer known for his novels, short stories, and science fiction works. In his youth, he traveled through the jungles of the Ecuadorian coastal region, lived in the mangroves of Esmeraldas province, and explored the highlands of the central inter-Andean region. At the age of 19, he wrote his first novel but was dissatisfied with it, leading him to stop writing for about 11 or 12 years. During his time in Madrid studying and caring for his newborn son, Páez found solace in writing science fiction stories during his sleepless nights. This experience reignited his passion for writing, prompting him to focus on fiction and pursue an academic career. After obtaining his doctorate in Madrid, he returned to Quito in 1990. Páez is currently a professor at the Pontifical Catholic University of Ecuador. Among his notable works are novels like “La reina mora” (1997), “Pirata Viejo” (2008), and “Olvido” (2010), as well as short story collections such as “Profundo en la galaxia” (1994) and “Ecuatox” (2013). Páez has received recognition for his writing, including the Joaquín Gallegos Lara Award for his short story collection “Profundo en la Galaxia” (1994) and the Darío Guevara Mayorga Award for his book “El secreto de la ocarina” (2009) and the crime novel “Retratos De Dios” (2016).

Continue reading “Santiago Páez”

Ney Yépez Cortés

Ney Yépez Cortés (Quito, 1968) is an Ecuadorian novelist, poet, journalist, songwriter, screenwriter, lecturer, and teacher of Tai Chi, Reiki and Qi Gong. He is best known as a science fiction, adventure and mystery writer. He published his first poems in 1990 in Ixo Facto, a surrealist literary magazine. He has since written 5 novels and 3 books of short stories. In 2001 he published his first book of short stories entitled “Mundos abiertos,” which was critically acclaimed. In 2006 he published his first novel “Las sombras de la Casa Mitre,” and 2009 he published its sequel “El árbol de las brujas.” His latest novel “El secreto de la reliquia sagrada,” a work of adventure and mystery, was published in 2019.

Continue reading “Ney Yépez Cortés”

Carlos Béjar Portilla

Carlos Béjar Portilla is a science fiction writer and poet. He was born in Ambato on February 17, 1938. He is considered an important storyteller of the 1970’s Ecuador. In 1982 he was declared a founding member of the “Society of Writers of Ecuador.”

Continue reading “Carlos Béjar Portilla”

Francisco Campos Coello

Francisco Campos Coello (Guayaquil, July 24, 1841 – April 25, 1916) was an Ecuadorian writer, historian and politician. In 1871, at the age of 30 he published the hagiographic novel “Plácido,” considered the third novel published in Ecuador. In 1893, he published in installments in the magazine El Globo Literario, his novel “La receta,” which is regarded as first literary work of science fiction in Ecuador. The novel, divided into six chapters, tells the story of R., a man who discovers the recipe for an elixir that can make him go to sleep and wake up 100 years in the future, which is how he transports himself to Guayaquil at the end of the 20th century, when the city had become a utopian society as a result of the implementation of liberal ideas of the time.

Continue reading “Francisco Campos Coello”

Cristián Londoño Proaño

Cristián Londoño Proaño is an Ecuadorian science fiction and fantasy writer, poet, screenwriter, film producer and director. He was born in 1973 in Quito, Ecuador. He has invented and developed the concept of the Andean fantasy novel. Most notable among his novels is the “El Instinto de la Luz” trilogy, which consists of the books El Instinto de la Luz (2011), El Tiempo Muerto (2015), and El retorno de la luz (2018).

Continue reading “Cristián Londoño Proaño”