Gerardo Chiriboga

Continue reading “Gerardo Chiriboga”

Cristóbal Cevallos Larrea

Continue reading “Cristóbal Cevallos Larrea”

Gustavo Vallejo Larrea

Continue reading “Gustavo Vallejo Larrea”

Juan Félix Proaño Castillo

Continue reading “Juan Félix Proaño Castillo”

Carlos Arturo León Romero

Continue reading “Carlos Arturo León Romero”

Ambrosio Larrea

Continue reading “Ambrosio Larrea”

Ángel Leónidas Araújo Chiriboga

Continue reading “Ángel Leónidas Araújo Chiriboga”

José Villacreses Vinueza

Continue reading “José Villacreses Vinueza”

Estelina Quinatoa Cotacachi

Estelina Quinatoa Cotacachi (Riobamba, October 1, 1953) is a distinguished Ecuadorian historian and curator of Kichwa Otavalo heritage. Her extensive qualifications include a Bachelor’s in Applied Anthropology from the Salesian Polytechnic University, a Master’s in Conservation and Cultural Asset Management from Universidad SEK, and the title of Anthropology expert from Universidad Abierta de Loja. She has contributed significantly as an Educational Guide at the Museum and Galleries of the Central Bank of Ecuador and later as an Assistant at the Archaeological Reserve of the Central Bank of Ecuador. Internationally acclaimed, she has conducted courses and conferences across the Americas and Europe. Her prolific publications and research reflect her unwavering commitment to preserving Ecuador’s cultural heritage, culminating in her prestigious induction into the National Academy of History of Ecuador in June 2021.

Continue reading “Estelina Quinatoa Cotacachi”

Gladys Paredes Bonilla

Gladys Erminia Paredes Bonilla (Riobamba, 1965) is an Ecuadorian poet and educator. She is a member of the literary section of the Chimborazo chapter of the House of Ecuadorian Culture. She represented Ecuador at the 2020 “Second Virtual Book Fair Italy.” Bonilla is part of the “Vuelo de Mujer” movement, a group of 45 women using poetry to combat violence against women and promote respect. Her 2018 poetry collection “Instantes,” was published by the Chimborazo branch of the House of Ecuadorian Culture.

Continue reading “Gladys Paredes Bonilla”

José de Orozco

José de Orozco (Riobamba, March 18, 1733) was a renowned Jesuit priest and poet. Educated at the University of San Gregorio Magno in Quito, he joined the Society of Jesus in 1748 and devoted himself to both religious service and academic pursuits. However, the expulsion of the Jesuits from Spanish territories in 1767 marked a significant shift in his life. After resettling in Italy, Orozco turned to literature as a means of expressing his feelings of exile and nostalgia, most notably in his poem “Lamentos de la musa de Chimbaraso aflijida con las penas de su destierro,” a deeply nostalgic poem reflecting his longing for his homeland. Among his other significant works, “La Conquista de Menorca” stands out as a monumental epic poem, earning Orozco a place among the great poets of the 18th-century Spanish colonial period.

Continue reading “José de Orozco”

Manuel Zabala Ruiz

Manuel Zabala Ruiz (Riobamba, 1928) is an Ecuadorian poet and university professor. He was a member of the “Caminos” group. He won several Ecuadorian national prizes, including First Prize of the Ismael Pérez Pazmiño Poetry Contest for Los cuadernos del salmista. His published poetry books include: La risa encadenada (1964), Teoría de lo simple (1970), Rumbo al otoño (1986), Obra poética completa (1998) and Poesía junta (2006).

Continue reading “Manuel Zabala Ruiz”

Jacqueline Costales

Jacqueline Costales de Torres, born Lourdes Jacqueline Costales Terán (Riobamba, 1964) is an Ecuadorian poet, writer, columnist, and former university professor. She has published 5 poetry books, a book of short stories, and a nonfiction book. She has also written for the regional magazine Panorama and the Riobamba newspaper La Prensa as a columnist. She is a member of the House of Ecuadorian Culture of Chimborazo, the “Grupo América” Cultural Corporation, and the Association of Contemporary Writers of Ecuador, where she serves as vice president. The National Assembly of Ecuador honored Jacqueline Costales for her contributions to Ecuadorian culture and education by bestowing upon her the “Doctora Matilde Hidalgo de Prócel” Award in 2020. She’s the founder and director of the Casa Cultural Somos Arte Foundation, a non-profit organization with the mission of making art accessible to people of all social classes.

Continue reading “Jacqueline Costales”

Jorge Rivadeneyra

Jorge Rivadeneyra Altamirano (Riobamba, 1930) is an Ecuadorian novelist, short story writer, essayist, columnist, and professor. His first novel, “Ya está amaneciendo,” appeared in 1957. He has written several books of short stories, including: “Encrucijada” (1960), “Ismata” (1993), and “Chacamandaca”(2015). Since 2002, he has lived in Caracas, Venezuela, where he has taught doctoral students at Venezuela’s Central University as a Professor of Social Sciences.

Continue reading “Jorge Rivadeneyra”

Saranelly de Lamas

Saranelly de Lamas, aka Saranelly Toledo de Lamas (Riobamba, 1933 – Guayaquil, 1992) was a poet, journalist and fiction writer. As a journalist she was the Cultural Correspondent of the newspapers El País and Occidente (Cali, Colombia) and El Tiempo de Bogota (New York, U.S.) and editor of the Art Page of the newspaper El Nacional (Caracas, Vezenuela). Her major works include: “Revenant” (1961), “Crónicas para un lugar desconocido” (1982) “Orfeo y otros cantos,” and “Los peces de jade cantan a la Paz.”

Continue reading “Saranelly de Lamas”