Club 7 (Group of poets from 1950s Guayaquil, Ecuador)

Club 7, or Club Siete, was a significant group of poets formed in Guayaquil, Ecuador, and active from 1951 to 1962. The origin of the group’s name, Club 7, can be traced back to its initial formation with seven members: David Ledesma Vázquez, Gastón Hidalgo Ortega, Carlos Benavides Vega, Ileana Espinel Cedeño, Sergio Román Armendáriz, Carlos Abadíe Silva, and Miguel Donoso Pareja. However, the group experienced a change in dynamics when it became known that Ledesma and Benavides were homosexual. As a result, Donoso and Abadíe decided to leave the group. Despite this loss, the remaining five members continued their collaboration and published an anthology titled “Club 7” in 1954. In 1960, three of the members, Ledesma, Román, and Espinel published another collection called “Triángulo,” showcasing their continued literary endeavors.

Continue reading “Club 7 (Group of poets from 1950s Guayaquil, Ecuador)”

The Decapitated Generation

Generación decapitada (Spanish for “Beheaded/Decapitated Generation”) is a literary group from the early twentieth century composed primarily of four young Ecuadorian poets. The group is called “decapitada,” or “decapitated,” because each member committed suicide at a young age. It includes two men from Guayaquil, Medardo Ángel Silva and Ernesto Noboa y Caamaño and two from Quito, Arturo Borja and Humberto Fierro. These four writers were heavily influenced by Rubén Darío’s modernismo movement and 19th-century French romantic poetry. They all read the poetry of Baudelaire, Hugo, Rimbaud, and Verlaine in the original French. Despite knowing each other and dedicating poems to one another, they never met to form an actual literary group. The term “generación decapitada” was coined in the mid-twentieth century by writer Raúl Andrade and other journalists and historians who noticed similarities in the authors’ poetry and fates.

Continue reading “The Decapitated Generation”

The poets of Elan

The ELAN Group (grupo Elan) emerged as a vibrant literary movement in Cuenca, Ecuador, during the 1940s, representing the neosymbolism or lyrical vanguard movement. They marked a significant departure from previous styles of poetry, aiming to create an authentic and innovative form of Cuenca poetry. Comprised of writers, artists, poets, and journalists born between 1905 and 1920, ELAN shared a sense of unity in their cultural outlook. ELAN’s poetry, characterized by clarity and humanism, continues to exert influence on contemporary literary circles. Within this group, Efraín Jara Idrovo stands out as an exceptional figure known for his remarkable contributions. Their early works and subsequent contributions were documented in various publications, showcasing their dedication to the craft. In 1972, Antonio Lloret Bastidas paid tribute to the lasting impact of the ELAN Group through his publication “Motivos de la Poesía Cuencana” and further honored them with a dedicated volume in his “Antología de la Poesía Cuencana.” The ELAN Group played a pivotal role in shaping the literary landscape of Cuenca and left a lasting impact on the poetry of the region.

Continue reading “The poets of Elan”