Hans Behr

Hans Behr Martínez (Guayaquil, October 31, 1962) is an award-winning Ecuadorian novelist, short story writer, and children’s literature author. In 1999, his novel “Los senderos de Emaús” won the national literature contest organized by the House of Ecuadorian Culture. In 2009, his novel “Maratón” (originally titled Acaso si lloviese) won the Aurelio Espinosa Pólit Prize. In 2014 his novel “Las luces de la felicidad” won the Ángel Felicísimo Rojas National Literature Contest. In 2020, his science fiction novel “Firmamento” won the La Linares Short Novel Prize.

Continue reading “Hans Behr”

Eliécer Cárdenas

Eliécer Cárdenas Espinosa (Cañar, December 10, 1950 – September 26, 2021) was an Ecuadorian novelist, short story writer, playwright and journalist. His novel Polvo y ceniza (1979) is the best-selling novel in Ecuador. He was a prolific author with over 20 books to his credit, including novels, short story collections, plays, and nonfiction. His play Morir en Vilcabamba (1988) was awarded the Aurelio Espinosa Pólit Prize. He was a member of the Ecuadorian Academy of Language since 2016.

Continue reading “Eliécer Cárdenas”

Jorge Carrera Andrade

Jorge Carrera Andrade (Quito, September 18, 1903 – Quito, November 7, 1978) was an Ecuadorian writer, poet, diplomat, and university professor. He was widely regarded as one of the most influential Latin American poets of the twentieth century both during his lifetime and after his death. Muna Lee’s critically-acclaimed translation of his poetry collection, Secret Country (1946), brought him to prominence in the United States. He lectured at Stony Brook University in the Department of Romance Languages in 1970­-1972, he also guest lectured at Harvard University and Vassar College during this period. Most of his poetry has been translated into French, German, Russian and English.

“The images of Jorge Carrera Andrade are so extraordinarily clear, so connected to the primitive I imagine I am…participating in a vision already lost to the world. It is a place melancholy but grand.”

William Carlos William
Continue reading “Jorge Carrera Andrade”

Alexis Zaldumbide

Alexis Zaldumbide Manosalvas (Quito, 1982), obtained the XLIII Aurelio Espinosa Pólit Prize for his short story book Habitaciones con música de fondo (2018). He had previously written the children’s books La puerta azul (2013) and Las valerosas hazañas de Pedro Mayo (2013).

Continue reading “Alexis Zaldumbide”

Andrea Crespo

Andrea Priscila Crespo Granda (Guayaquil, October 4, 1983) is an Ecuadorian poet. In 2016 her book of poetry “Registro de la habitada” was awarded the Aurelio Espinosa Pólit Prize. In 2017 her next book of poetry “Libro Hémbrico” won the House of Ecuadorian Culture’s David Ledesma Vásquez National Poetry Contest. She currently teaches at the University of the Arts in Guayaquil, Ecuador.

Continue reading “Andrea Crespo”

Lucrecia Maldonado

Lucrecia Maldonado (Quito, May 24, 1962) has written novels, poetry, short stories, children’s literature, and nonfiction. Since 1991 Maldonado has been a language and literature professor at the American School of Quito. Her first novel “Salvo el calvario” (2005) won the prestigious Aurelio Espinosa Pólit Prize.

Continue reading “Lucrecia Maldonado”

Elking Araujo

Elking Raymond Araujo is a writer from Ecuador. He was awarded the Aurelio Espinosa Pólit Prize for his book of short stories “Al pie de la letra” (2008). He also wrote the book “Sin pelos en la lengua (ni en otras partes)” (2017). He currently teaches at the School of Language and Literature at the Pontifical Catholic University of Ecuador. Elking does research in Discourse Analysis, Syntax and Pragmatics.

Continue reading “Elking Araujo”

The Route of Writers and Artists, in the General Cemetery of Guayaquil, Ecuador.

In the route of writers and artists in the General Cemetery of Guayaquil (also known as the Patrimonial Cemetery of Guayaquil) you can visit the final resting place of such renowned writers as Numa Pompilio Llona, José Joaquín de Olmedo, Jose de la Cuadra, Enrique Gil Gilbert, and Joaquín Gallegos Lara. The tourist route includes a third of the 15 hectares of the cemetery that were declared Cultural Heritage in 2003. A diversity of styles are mixed throughout this cemetery. The architecture between classical and modern, which combines art and funerary aesthetics, draws the attention of locals and foreigners.

Continue reading “The Route of Writers and Artists, in the General Cemetery of Guayaquil, Ecuador.”

Sandra Enríquez Garzón

Sandra Enríquez Garzón (Quito, August 10, 1963) is an Ecuadorian writer. She published her first novel Espejos rotos in 2019. The novel’s story takes place between 1830 and 1852 . Enríquez has described it as “a story that reflects the years of the past in a broken mirror.”

Continue reading “Sandra Enríquez Garzón”

Josué Augusto Durán

Josué Augusto Durán Hermida is a writer from Cuenca, Ecuador. In 2019, at the age of 25, his nonfiction book El abandono de la experiencia (originally titled Minutas de bulla under the pen name San Ambrosio) was awarded the XLIV Aurelio Espinosa Pólit National Prize for Literature. Durán currently resides in Amsterdam, Netherlands.

Continue reading “Josué Augusto Durán”

Aurelio Espinosa Pólit

Father Aurelio Espinosa Pólit was an Ecuadorian Jesuit priest, writer, poet, translator, literary critic and university professor. His works carry religious, historical and cultural themes. He was born on July 11, 1894 in Quito Ecuador and died on February 21, 1961 at the age of 66. At the age of four, he and his family fled to Europe due to political reasons. He furthered his studies in Barcelona, Granada and in Cambridge. He returned to Ecuador in 1928, becoming one of the country’s most famous and respected writers.

Continue reading “Aurelio Espinosa Pólit”

The Aurelio Espinosa Pólit National Prize for Literature

The Aurelio Espinosa Pólit National Prize for Literature is a literary prize awarded yearly to Ecuadorian writers by the School of Language and Literature of the Pontifical Catholic University of Ecuador in the categories of poetry, nonfiction, short story, novel, and play. Along with the Eugenio Espejo Prize, it is one of the most important literary prizes in Ecuador. The award is named after the Ecuadorian writer (1894-1961).

Continue reading “The Aurelio Espinosa Pólit National Prize for Literature”

Huilo Ruales

Huilo Ruales Hualca is an Ecuadorian novelist, playwright, poet and short story writer. He was born on March 25, 1947 in Ibarra, Ecuador. He is considered one of Ecuador’s most important contemporary writers. Some of his works have been translated into French and German. His books have been awarded the Joaquín Gallegos Lara Prize (1989) and the Aurelio Espinosa Polit Prize (1994). He currently lives in Paris, France.

Continue reading “Huilo Ruales”