Josefina Egas Montalvo

Josefina Egas Montalvo (Guayaquil, 1920 – February 2, 2014) was an Ecuadorian poet and a writer. She was known for her contributions to poetry and literature, as well as her dedication to education. Among her notable works are “Poetas Periodistas Guayaquileños” (2007), a comprehensive exploration of the biographies of Guayaquil’s literary figures, and her inclusion in “La Voz de Eros: Dos Siglos de Poesía Erótica de Mujeres Ecuatorianas” (2006), highlighting her poetry alongside other renowned female authors. Her dedication to literature and education earned her several awards and recognitions, including honors from the Casa de la Cultura Ecuatoriana and the Círculo de Periodistas del Guayas. In 2011, she received a prestigious award for her exceptional career as a teacher and poet, cementing her legacy in Ecuadorian literature.


Josefina Egas Montalvo, born in 1920 and passing away on February 2, 2014, in Guayaquil, Ecuador, was a renowned Ecuadorian author, poetess, and educator. Her contributions to literature, especially in the realms of poetry and literary anthologies, have left an indelible mark on Ecuador’s cultural landscape. This article delves into the life, achievements, and legacy of this prolific writer.

Early Life and Education

Born in the vibrant city of Guayaquil, Josefina Egas Montalvo displayed a deep passion for literature from an early age. She pursued her education with zeal, eventually becoming a well-respected teacher and poet in her homeland.

Literary Contributions

“Poetas Periodistas Guayaquileños”

One of Josefina Egas Montalvo’s most notable works is “Poetas Periodistas Guayaquileños,” published in 2007. This comprehensive exploration delves into the biographies of sixty-nine authors, both living and deceased, all hailing from Guayaquil. The unveiling of this work took place at the Casa de la Cultura Ecuatoriana in Guayas, where she eloquently explained the content’s direction and read excerpts from the cited poet-journalists within the book.

“La Voz de Eros: Dos Siglos de Poesía Erótica de Mujeres Ecuatorianas”

In 2006, Josefina Egas Montalvo’s name was immortalized in the anthology “La Voz de Eros: Dos Siglos de Poesía Erótica de Mujeres Ecuatorianas.” Compiled by the Quito-based poetess Sheyla Bravo Velásquez, this anthology showcases the works of 110 renowned female authors, including Egas Montalvo, to highlight women’s significant role in the literary world. Her inclusion in this collection underlines her influence and contributions to Ecuadorian literature.

Recognition and Awards

Josefina Egas Montalvo’s dedication and talent did not go unnoticed. In September 2011, a solemn ceremony was held at the Teatro José Martínez Queirolo of the Casa de la Cultura in Guayas (CCG) to honor numerous artists, writers, and intellectuals who had significantly contributed to the region’s cultural development. She was bestowed with a medal and an official acknowledgement of her achievements, recognizing her exemplary career as an educator and poet. This prestigious recognition was presented by Aquiles Rigail, a professor at the University Católica de Santiago de Guayaquil.


Josefina Egas Montalvo’s literary legacy continues to inspire and educate generations of writers and readers in Ecuador. Her works, especially “Poetas Periodistas Guayaquileños” and her inclusion in “La Voz de Eros,” serve as a testament to her dedication to literature and her commitment to promoting women’s voices in the literary arena. Even after her passing in 2014, her contributions to Ecuadorian literature remain a source of pride and inspiration for the nation.

In conclusion, Josefina Egas Montalvo’s life and career as a writer, poet, and educator are a shining example of dedication to the literary arts. Her impact on Ecuadorian literature and her efforts to elevate the voices of women in this field will always be celebrated and remembered.


  • “Poetas Periodistas Guayaquileños” (2007)
  • “La Voz de Eros: Dos Siglos de Poesía Erótica de Mujeres Ecuatorianas” (2006)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *