Javier Ponce

Javier Ponce Cevallos

Javier Ponce Cevallos (Quito, April 28, 1948) is an Ecuadorian author, journalist, and politician. Additionally, he spent many years working as an editorial writer for the newspapers El Universo and Hoy. He has held various public posts, including Minister of Defense (2008–2012) and Minister of Agriculture, Livestock, Aquaculture, and Fisheries (2012–2017), both held under President Rafael Correa’s administration. In 1982, he published his first book of poetry, “A espaldas de otros lenguajes,” followed by “Escrito lejos” (1984), “Los codices de Lorenzo Trinidad” (1984), “Texto en ruinas” (1999) and “Afuera es la noche” (2000). In 1990, he wrote his first novel, “El insomnio de Nazario Mieles,” followed by “Es tan difícil morir” (1994), and “Resígnate a perder” (1998) whose plot revolves around a character named Santos Feijó, the director of Quito’s Historical Archive, and his two loves, a woman named Nadja and a transvestite prostitute known as “Caramelo.”

Political life

He entered political life on August 14, 2007 as private secretary to President Rafael Correa. On April 9 of the following year he was appointed Minister of Defense, which was criticized by personalities such as former Minister José Gallardo Román due to past criticisms that Ponce had made about the army. During his time in office, he presented a report confirming alleged infiltrations into the army by members with connections to the CIA, who would have received money in exchange for espionage to support Plan Colombia.

On April 23, 2012, he left the Ministry of Defense and was appointed Minister of Agriculture, Livestock, Aquaculture and Fisheries by President Correa, who entrusted him to improve productivity and work on the democratization of land.


At the age of 20, he moved to France and married activist and future politician Dolores Padilla.



  • El insomnio de Nazario Mieles (1990)
  • Es tan difícil morir (1994)
  • Resígnate a perder (1998)


  • A espaldas de otros lenguajes (1982)
  • Escrito lejos (1984)
  • Los códices de Lorenzo Trinidad (1984)
  • Texto en ruinas (1999)
  • Afuera es la noche (2000)


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *