Alfredo Noriega

Alfredo Noriega

Afredo Noriega Fernández (Quito, 1962) is an Ecuadorian writer, novelist, short story writer, and playwright. In the early 1980’s he was a member of the writing workshop of Miguel Donoso Pareja and founded the group La Pequeñalulupa. In 1985, he moved to Paris, France where he studied linguistics at the Sorbonne Nouvelle. He lived in Paris and Brussels for many years and now lives in Cardiff, United Kingdom. He has worked as a Spanish professor at universities. He is a highly-acclaimed author of noir novels. Some of his best-known work includes the 2002 novel “De que nada se sabe,” (translated into French as C’est dur de mourir au printemps), its 2010 sequel “Tan solo morir” (translated as Mourir, la belle affaire), and the trilogy’s final book, the 2019 novel “Eso si nunca.” The trilogy’s first novel, “De que nada se sabe,” was adapted into a film in 2008 titled “Cuando me toque a mí” by director Víctor Arregui who co-wrote the screenplay with him. He has published novels, short story collections, poetry collections, and plays. His stories have been included in several national and international anthologies.


Alfredo Noriega’s novels “De que nada se sabe” (Alfaguara, 2002), “Tan solo morir” (Alfaguara, 2010) and “Eso sí nunca” (Eskeletra, 2018) form part of a trilogy. What ties these books together is the relationship between the protagonist, Arturo Fernández (a medical examiner) and his mother. In the first novel she is alive, in the second she dies and he evokes her throughout the work, while in the third the memory of her begins to fade.

The first two novels of the trilogy were translated into French as “C’est dur de mourir au printemps” (trans. by Alyette Barbier) and “Mourir, la belle affaire” (trans. by Nathalie Lalisse-Delcourt).


Interview with Alfredo Noriega. Uploaded to YouTube 2018
Speaking of Bruxxeles Noir, an anthology that contains his short story. Uploaded to YouTube 2015

Selected works


  • Desasitios (Eskeletra Editorial, 1998)
  • De que nada se sabe (Alfaguara, 2002)
  • 9 mm parabellum (Editorial Estación Sur, 2008)
  • La erupción (2010)
  • Tan solo morir (Alfaguara, 2010)
  • Eso sí nunca (2018)
  • Guápulo (Cactus Pink, 2019)

Short stories

  • Bruselas (Cactus Pink, 2021)


  • La pared norte (Yanasacha) (Black Rider, 2005)
  • La piel en la oscuridad (La Línea Imaginaria, 2014)


  • La longue-vue (in French)
  • La trilogía equinoccial
  • Penélope y el gato
His works have also been included in the following anthologies
  • Bruxelles noir (2015, edited by Michel Dufranne, French)
  • Brussels Noir (2016, edited by Michel Dufranne; English translation by Katie Shireen Assef)