Augusto Rodríguez

Augusto Rodríguez

Augusto Rodríguez (Guayaquil, 1979) is an Ecuadorian poet, journalist, editor of El Quirófano Ediciones, university professor in Guayaquil and director of the Ileana Espinel Cedeño International Poetry Festival. He is the author of 20 books of poetry, short stories, novels, interviews and essays in prestigious publishing houses in Spain, Mexico, Cuba, Peru and Ecuador. His work has won numerous awards and is featured in various anthologies. He is one of the founders of the cultural group Buseta de Papel. He has participated in several literary events inside and outside of Ecuador. Part of his poetic work has been translated into twelve languages: English, Arabic, Portuguese, Catalan, Romanian, Italian, German, French, Chinese, Japanese, Serbian and Medumba.


Augusto Rodríguez Interview

Circa 2016

An interview with the Guayaquilean poet Augusto Rodríguez in honor of the Guayaquil festivities to celebrate its 477 years

Circa 2012

Augusto Rodríguez at Poquita Fe 2008

Circa 2018


  • Winner of the David Ledesma Vázquez National Poetry Prize (2005)
  • Winner of the Efraín Jara Idrovo National Poetry Prize (2005)
  • Honorable mention at the César Dávila Andrade National Poetry Contest (2005)
  • Winner of the Joaquín Gallegos Lara National Short Story Award (2011)
  • Honorable Mention at the Pichincha Poetry Prize (2012)
  • Finalist of the Adonais Awards (2013)
  • Finalist of the Crónicas Nuevas Plumas, Mexico (2014)
  • Finalist of the Herralde de Novela Award (2016)
  • Honorable Mention at the Alejandro Carrión Aguirre National Poetry Contest (2016)
  • Honorable mention at the David Ledesma Vázquez National Poetry Prize (2017) Honorable Mention at the César Dávila Andrade National Poetry Contest (2017)

Partial list of works

  • Mientras ella mata mosquitos (2004; poetry)
  • Animales salvajes (2005; poetry)
  • La bestia que me habita (2005; poetry)
  • Cantos contra un dinosaurio ebrio (2007; poetry)
  • Matar a la bestia (2007; poetry)
  • Voy hacia mi cuerpo (2010; poetry)
  • Del otro lado de la ventana (2011; stories)
  • La enfermedad invisible (2012; poetry)
  • Los muertos siempre regresan (2012; stories)
  • Adrenalina y fuego (2012; stories)
  • El libro del cáncer (2012; poetry)
  • El cuaderno de K (2011; novel)
  • Masturbación (2012; novel)
  • El libro de la enfermedad (2013; poetry)
  • El fin de la familia (2019; short novel)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *