Daniela Alcívar Bellolio

Daniela Alcívar Bellolio is an Ecuadorian writer, literary critic and feminist. She was born in Guayaquil, Ecuador on March 3, 1982. Alcívar’s first two books were published in 2016, her short story collection Para esta mañana diáfana, and her essay collection Pararrayos, which she wrote while living in Buenos Aires, Argentina. In 2018, her novel Siberia was awarded the Joaquín Gallegos Lara Prize for best novel of the year and also received honorable mention at the La Linares Prize.

Continue reading “Daniela Alcívar Bellolio”

Ecuadorian poet and novelist Rafael Díaz Ycaza reading from his poetry and prose

Ecuadorian poet and novelist Rafael Díaz Ycaza reading from his poetry and prose. Archive of Hispanic Literature on Tape (Library of Congress, Control Number 93842308), Recorded Mar. 27, 1977, in the Library of Congress Recording Laboratory, Studio B, Washington, D.C. Recorded for the Archive of Hispanic Literature on Tape. Production level cataloging. Also available in digital form on the Library of Congress Web site.

Go to Recording

Rafael Díaz Ycaza

Rafael Díaz Ycaza was a poet, novelist, short story writer and columnist. He was born in Guayaquil, Ecuador on October 28, 1925 and died in the same city on August 28, 2013. In 2011, Ecuador’s President Rafael Correa awarded Díaz with the the nation’s highest literary distinction, the Eugenio Espejo National Prize, for his lifetime of literary work.

“His book [Zona prohibida] was like a bible for the youth of my generation, especially for its social poetry.”

Sonia Manzano (Poet) – quoted in “Rafael Díaz Ycaza, el hombre que dedica su vida a las letras,” El UNIVERSO, Sept 2, 2011.
Continue reading “Rafael Díaz Ycaza”

Jorge Martillo

Jorge Martillo Monserrate is an award-winning poet and has been a columnist for various newspapers. He was born on May 2, 1957 in Guayaquil, Ecuador. He has published the poetry books: Aviso a los navegantes (1987); Fragmentarium (1991); Confesiorarium (1996) and Vida póstuma (1997). He was awarded the Aurelio Espinosa Pólit Prize (1991).

Continue reading “Jorge Martillo”

Enrique Gil Gilbert

Enrique Gil Gilbert was an Ecuadorian novelist, short story writer, nonfiction writer, politician and teacher. He was born in Guayaquil Ecuador on July 8, 1912 and died in the same city on February 21, 1973. He was the youngest member of the “Guayaquil Group,” a group of realist writers of the 1930s Ecuador. At only eighteen years of age he co-wrote Los que se van, cuentos del cholo y del motuvio (1930) with Demetrio Aguilera Malta and Joaquín Gallegos Lara – a book which marked the beginning of literary realism in Ecuador.

Continue reading “Enrique Gil Gilbert”

Marcelo Báez

Marcelo Rafael Báez Meza (Guayaquil, April 24, 1969) is an Ecuadorian poet, novelist, translator, and film critic. He has earned a myriad of awards for his books. He won first place in the National Literature Contest of the House of Ecuadorian Culture on three occasions (1997, 2005 and 2013). His prize-winning novels include “Catador de arenas” (2010) and “Nunca más Amarilis” (2018). In 2012 his poetry book “El mismo mar de todas Las Habanas” won the Aurelio Espinosa Pólit Prize. He is currently the dean of the Art, Design and Audiovisual Communication Department of the Superior Polytechnic School of the Littoral (ESPOL) in Guayaquil.

Continue reading “Marcelo Báez”

Carlos Benavides Vega

Carlos Benavides Vega, pseudonym: Álvaro San Félix (Guayaquil, March 9, 1931 – Quito, September 29, 1999) was an Ecuadorian poet, actor and playwright. One of the pioneers of historical drama, he wrote “La herida de Dios” (1978; winner of the Aurelio Espinosa Pólit Prize) about the historical figure of Gabriel Garcia Moreno, “Espejo, elias Chushig” (1979), and “Caudillos en llamas” (1980). With Pedro Saad Herrería he wrote “Una loca estrella,” a historical play about Manuelita Sáenz.

Continue reading “Carlos Benavides Vega”

Hans Behr

Hans Behr Martínez is an Ecuadorian writer. He was born in Guayaquil on October 31, 1962. In 1999, his novel Los senderos de Emaús won the national literature contest organized by the House of Ecuadorian Culture. In 2009, his novel Maratón (originally titled Acaso si lloviese) won the Aurelio Espinosa Pólit National Literature Prize. In 2014 his novel Las luces de la felicidad won the Ángel Felicísimo Rojas National Literature Contest. In 2020, his science fiction novel Firmamento won the La Linares Short Novel Prize.

Continue reading “Hans Behr”

Andrea Crespo

Andrea Priscila Crespo Granda is an Ecuadorian poet. She was born in Guayaquil, Ecuador on October 4, 1983. In 2016 her book of poetry Registro de la habitada was awarded the Aurelio Espinosa Pólit National Prize for Literature. In 2017 her next book of poetry Libro Hémbrico won the House of Ecuadorian Culture’s David Ledesma Vásquez National Poetry Contest. She currently teaches at the University of the Arts in Guayaquil, Ecuador.

Continue reading “Andrea Crespo”

José de la Cuadra

José de la Cuadra Vargas (Guayaquil, September 3, 1903 – February 27, 1941) is widely regarded as one of Ecuador’s greatest authors. De la Cuadra was a social realist author whose works included the short story La Tigra (1932) and the novel Los Sangurimas (1939). He was a member of the 1930’s “Guayaquil Group,” a circle of young social protest novelists from Ecuador’s coastal city of Guayaquil, which included writers such as Enrique Gil Gilbert, Demetrio Aguilera Malta, Joaquín Gallegos Lara and Alfredo Pareja Diezcanseco.

Continue reading “José de la Cuadra”

Demetrio Aguilera Malta

Demetrio Aguilera Malta was a prolific novelist, short story writer, playwright, film maker, painter and diplomat. He was born in Guayaquil, Ecuador, on May 24, 1909 and died in Mexico on December 28, 1981. He first came into prominence with the book of short stories Los que se van: cuentos del cholo y del montubio (1930) which he co-authored with Joaquín Gallegos Lara and Enrique Gil Gilbert. Other renowned works include the novels Don Goyo (1933); Seven Serpents and Seven Moons (1970) which was translated into English by Gregory Rabassa; El secuestro del General (1973) and many others. In 1981, he received the Premio Eugenio Espejo, the country’s highest literary honor.

“There are stomach writers (who are only in it for the money) and writer writers. And there are two kinds of best-sellers: best-sellers in space, which can be found everywhere, and best-sellers in time, which never go out of print.”

Demetrio Aguilera-Malta quoted by Michael Kernan, in the article Politics of The Pen (The Washington Post, April 23, 1980).
Continue reading “Demetrio Aguilera Malta”