Marcelo Báez

Marcelo Rafael Báez Meza (Guayaquil, April 24, 1969) is an Ecuadorian poet, novelist, translator, and film critic. He has earned a myriad of awards for his books. He won first place in the National Literature Contest of the House of Ecuadorian Culture on three occasions (1997, 2005 and 2013). His prize-winning novels include “Catador de arenas” (2010) and “Nunca más Amarilis” (2018). In 2012 his poetry book “El mismo mar de todas Las Habanas” won the Aurelio Espinosa Pólit Prize. He is currently the dean of the Art, Design and Audiovisual Communication Department of the Superior Polytechnic School of the Littoral (ESPOL) in Guayaquil.

Continue reading “Marcelo Báez”

Luis Borja Corral

Luis Borja Corral (Quito, 1981) is an attorney and writer. Recurring themes in his works include sexuality, death, marginalization and love. “Los funámbulos” (2012), his first novel, was published digitally. His second novel “Pequeños palacios en el pecho” (2014), won the Aurelio Espinosa Pólit National Literary Prize.

Continue reading “Luis Borja Corral”

Santiago Peña Bossano

Santiago Peña Bossano is an Ecuadorian writer. He was born in Quito in 1990. His nonfiction book Estética de la indolencia (2015) won the Aurelio Espinosa Pólit Prize. He received a masters in Literature from the Complutense University of Madrid. He is a professor of Hispanic Literature at the Pontifical Catholic University of Ecuador. He is the director of Cactus Pink, a publisher in Quito. He teaches creative writing at the Kafka Escuela de Escritores (Kafka School for Writers). His novel Mindotown was published in 2017.

Continue reading “Santiago Peña Bossano”

Roberto Ramírez Paredes

Roberto Ramírez Paredes (Quito, 1982) is an Ecuadorian author and university professor. His literary journey began with his debut novel “La ruta de las imprentas” in 2015, followed by the critically acclaimed “No somos tu clase de gente” in 2018, which won the Aurelio Espinosa Pólit National Literature Prize. His later works, “Evangelio del detective formidable” (2021) and “Tamia, el universo” (2022), further established him as a prominent figure in contemporary literature. Apart from his novels, Paredes has written for notable Ecuadorian newspapers, including El Comercio and Hoy, and has had his short stories published in various anthologies. Currently, he is sharing his literary expertise and knowledge as a professor at the School of Literature at the University of the Arts (UArtes)in Ecuador.

Continue reading “Roberto Ramírez Paredes”

Natasha Salguero

Natasha Salguero Bravo is a novelist, poet, journalist and nonfiction writer. She was born in Quito, Ecuador on October 2, 1952. In 1989, using a male pseudonym, her novel Azulinaciones won the Aurelio Espinosa Pólit National Literature Prize, making her the first woman to win the prize. That same year she won the Gabriela Mistral Poetry Prize for Azulinaciones.

Continue reading “Natasha Salguero”

Julio Pazos Barrera

Julio Pazos Barrera is a poet, writer, teacher, and cook. He was born in Baños, Ecuador on August 19, 1944. In 1979, Pazos’ poetry book La ciudad de las visiones was awarded the Aurelio Espinosa Pólit Prize. In 1982, his book Levantamiento del país con textos libres was awarded Latin America’s most prestigious literary award, the Casa de las Américas Prize (Havana, Cuba). Pazos is the editor-in-chief of the magazine Letras del Ecuador published by the Ecuadorian House of Culture. He is a member of the Ecuadorian Academy of Language. In 2010, Pazos was awarded Ecuador’s top literary prize Premio Eugenio Espejo by President Rafael Correa.

Continue reading “Julio Pazos Barrera”

Marcelo Lalama Basante

Marcelo Lalama Basante (Riobamba, 1942 – Quito, 2017) was an Ecuadorian novelist and a medical doctor. His debut novel “Los Nazarenos” won the Aurelio Espinoza Pólit Prize in the year 2000 and the Joaquín Gallegos Lara Prize in 2001. His other works include “Santamaría de los Volcanes” (awarded First Prize in Literature from the Central University of Ecuador in 2008) and “Hospital Real de la Misericordia” (2013).

Continue reading “Marcelo Lalama Basante”

Carlos Benavides Vega

Carlos Benavides Vega, pseudonym: Álvaro San Félix (Guayaquil, March 9, 1931 – Quito, September 29, 1999) was an Ecuadorian poet, actor and playwright. He was a member of Club 7, a Guayaquil-based poets’ group founded in the 1950s. In 1954, Benavides was among one of five members who together published a poetry collection titled “Club 7.” He was a pioneer of historical drama, authoring the plays, “La herida de Dios” (1978; winner of the Aurelio Espinosa Pólit Prize) about Gabriel Garcia Moreno, “Espejo, elias Chushig” (1979), and “Caudillos en llamas” (1980). He also co-wrote “Una loca Estrella,” a historical play about Manuelita Sáenz, with Pedro Saad Herrería.

Continue reading “Carlos Benavides Vega”

Marco Vinicio Rueda

Father Marco Vinicio Rueda Gomezjurado was a Jesuit priest, philosopher, anthropologist, writer, educator. He was born in Quito, Ecuador on August 12, 1914 and died in the same city on March 13, 2005. Rueda was an exponent of Zen in Ecuador. Rueda’s most notable books are concerned with philosophy, anthropology and Zen.

Continue reading “Marco Vinicio Rueda”

Jorge Dávila Vázquez

Jorge Dávila Vázquez is a writer, professor and film critic. Dávila Vázquez was born on February 14, 1947 in Cuenca, Ecuador. Dávila Vázquez has written novels, plays, short stories, poetry and nonfiction. He is a two-time recipient of the prestigious Aurelio Espinosa Pólit Prize, for his experimental novel María Joaquina en la vida y en la muerte (1976), and for his short story collection Este mundo es el camino (1980). His short story book El libro de los sueños (2001) won the Joaquín Gallegos Lara Prize. In 2016, Dávila was awarded Ecuador’s top literary prize, the Eugenio Espejo Award.

Continue reading “Jorge Dávila Vázquez”

Ana Estrella Santos

Ana Estrella Santos is a dialectologist and writer who won the Aurelio Espinosa Pólit Prize in 2013 for her short story book La curiosidad mató al alemán. Estrella is the director of the Language and Literature department of the Pontifical Catholic University of Ecuador in Quito, where she also teaches. She earned her PhD in Hispanic Philology and General Linguistics from the National Distance Education University (Madrid, Spain).

Continue reading “Ana Estrella Santos”