Rafael Díaz Ycaza

Rafael Díaz Ycaza was a poet, novelist, short story writer and columnist. He was born in Guayaquil, Ecuador on October 28, 1925 and died in the same city on August 28, 2013. In 2011, Ecuador’s President Rafael Correa awarded Díaz with the the nation’s highest literary distinction, the Eugenio Espejo National Prize, for his lifetime of literary work.

“His book [Zona prohibida] was like a bible for the youth of my generation, especially for its social poetry.”

Sonia Manzano (Poet) – quoted in “Rafael Díaz Ycaza, el hombre que dedica su vida a las letras,” El UNIVERSO, Sept 2, 2011.
Continue reading “Rafael Díaz Ycaza”

Iván Carvajal

Iván Carvajal Aguirre is a poet, writer and professor. He was born in 1948 in San Gabriel, Ecuador. In 1984 his work entitled Parajes earned the Aurelio Espinosa Pólit Prize. In 2013 he won the Premio a las Libertades Juan Montalvo. He was part of the Tzantzismo literary movement of the 1960s Ecuador. He lives in Quito and is a Professor at the Pontifical Catholic University of Ecuador.

Continue reading “Iván Carvajal”

Jorge Martillo

Jorge Martillo Monserrate is an award-winning poet and has been a columnist for various newspapers. He was born on May 2, 1957 in Guayaquil, Ecuador. He has published the poetry books: Aviso a los navegantes (1987); Fragmentarium (1991); Confesiorarium (1996) and Vida póstuma (1997). He was awarded the Aurelio Espinosa Pólit Prize (1991).

Continue reading “Jorge Martillo”

Cristina Burneo

María Cristina Burneo Salazar is an Ecuadorian writer, translator, journalist, professor and feminist. She was born in Quito in 1977. She earned a degree in literature from the Pontifical Catholic University of Ecuador, a master’s degree in literature from the Simon Bolivar Andean University, and a PhD in Latin American literature from the University of Maryland, College Park. Since 2014 she has worked as a postgraduate professor at the Simon Bolivar Andean University, specializing in Human Rights, Cultural Studies and Literature. Her book El sueño de Pierre Menard (2001) which questions the essential characteristics of translation and the criteria used to judge a translation, earned the Aurelio Espinosa Pólit Prize.

Continue reading “Cristina Burneo”

Paúl Puma

Paúl Puma (Quito, 1972) is an Ecuadorian poet, playwright, and literary critic. He has a master’s in Latin American literature from the Simón Bolívar Andean University, Ecuador, and a PhD from the University of Alicante, Spain. Among his best known works are the poetry book Felipe Guamán Poma de Ayala (winner of the Aurelio Espinosa Pólit Prize, 2002), and the science fiction theatre piece Mickey Mouse a Gogo (winner of the Joaquín Gallegos Lara Prize, 2017). In 2017 Puma published El tesoro de los llanganatis (The Treasure of the Llanganates) with an English translation by Jonathan Simkins.

Continue reading “Paúl Puma”

Roberto Sánchez Cazar

Roberto Sánchez Cazar (Quito, 1971) is an Ecuadorian actor, stage director, performing arts teacher, and playwright. His texts have been published in books and magazines in Ecuador, Argentina, Peru, Spain and the United States. His play Que no haya pena (2003) won the Aurelio Espinosa Pólit Prize.

Continue reading “Roberto Sánchez Cazar”

Enrique Gil Gilbert

Enrique Gil Gilbert was an Ecuadorian novelist, short story writer, nonfiction writer, politician and teacher. He was born in Guayaquil Ecuador on July 8, 1912 and died in the same city on February 21, 1973. He was the youngest member of the “Guayaquil Group,” a group of realist writers of the 1930s Ecuador. At only eighteen years of age he co-wrote Los que se van, cuentos del cholo y del motuvio (1930) with Demetrio Aguilera Malta and Joaquín Gallegos Lara – a book which marked the beginning of literary realism in Ecuador.

Continue reading “Enrique Gil Gilbert”

Marcelo Báez

Marcelo Rafael Báez Meza (Guayaquil, April 24, 1969) is an Ecuadorian poet, novelist, translator, and film critic. He has earned a myriad of awards for his books. He won first place in the National Literature Contest of the House of Ecuadorian Culture on three occasions (1997, 2005 and 2013). His prize-winning novels include “Catador de arenas” (2010) and “Nunca más Amarilis” (2018). In 2012 his poetry book “El mismo mar de todas Las Habanas” won the Aurelio Espinosa Pólit Prize. He is currently the dean of the Art, Design and Audiovisual Communication Department of the Superior Polytechnic School of the Littoral (ESPOL) in Guayaquil.

Continue reading “Marcelo Báez”

Luis Borja Corral

Luis Borja Corral (Quito, 1981) is an attorney and writer. Recurring themes in his works include sexuality, death, marginalization and love. “Los funámbulos” (2012), his first novel, was published digitally. His second novel “Pequeños palacios en el pecho” (2014), won the Aurelio Espinosa Pólit National Literary Prize.

Continue reading “Luis Borja Corral”

Santiago Peña Bossano

Santiago Peña Bossano is an Ecuadorian writer. He was born in Quito in 1990. His nonfiction book Estética de la indolencia (2015) won the Aurelio Espinosa Pólit Prize. He received a masters in Literature from the Complutense University of Madrid. He is a professor of Hispanic Literature at the Pontifical Catholic University of Ecuador. He is the director of Cactus Pink, a publisher in Quito. He teaches creative writing at the Kafka Escuela de Escritores (Kafka School for Writers). His novel Mindotown was published in 2017.

Continue reading “Santiago Peña Bossano”

Roberto Ramírez Paredes

Roberto Ramírez Paredes is an Ecuadorian writer. He was born in Quito in 1982. His novel La ruta de las imprentas (2015) received honorable mention at the VI Sergio Galindo Latin American Prize for first novel (University of Veracruz, Mexico). In 2017, his second novel No somos tu clase de gente received the Aurelio Espinosa Pólit National Prize for Literature.

Continue reading “Roberto Ramírez Paredes”

Natasha Salguero

Natasha Salguero Bravo is a novelist, poet, journalist and nonfiction writer. She was born in Quito, Ecuador on October 2, 1952. In 1989, using a male pseudonym, her novel Azulinaciones won the Aurelio Espinosa Pólit National Literature Prize, making her the first woman to win the prize. That same year she won the Gabriela Mistral Poetry Prize for Azulinaciones.

Continue reading “Natasha Salguero”

Julio Pazos Barrera

Julio Pazos Barrera is a poet, writer, teacher, and cook. He was born in Baños, Ecuador on August 19, 1944. In 1979, Pazos’ poetry book La ciudad de las visiones was awarded the Aurelio Espinosa Pólit Prize. In 1982, his book Levantamiento del país con textos libres was awarded Latin America’s most prestigious literary award, the Casa de las Américas Prize (Havana, Cuba). Pazos is the editor-in-chief of the magazine Letras del Ecuador published by the Ecuadorian House of Culture. He is a member of the Ecuadorian Academy of Language. In 2010, Pazos was awarded Ecuador’s top literary prize Premio Eugenio Espejo by President Rafael Correa.

Continue reading “Julio Pazos Barrera”

Marcelo Lalama Basante

Marcelo Lalama Basante (Riobamba, 1942 – Quito, 2017) was an Ecuadorian novelist and a medical doctor. His debut novel “Los Nazarenos” won the Aurelio Espinoza Pólit Prize in the year 2000 and the Joaquín Gallegos Lara Prize in 2001. His other works include “Santamaría de los Volcanes” (awarded First Prize in Literature from the Central University of Ecuador in 2008) and “Hospital Real de la Misericordia” (2013).

Continue reading “Marcelo Lalama Basante”